FC Brazil


Anderson: ‘If I score, I won’t celebrate’ by rafaelmaranhao
April 14, 2009, 9:04 pm
Filed under: English Premier League, UEFA Champions League | Tags: ,

Anderson says he is hungry to play again for Man U

Match fit again, Anderson is in Manchester United’s squad  for Wednesday’s Champions League quarter-final second leg against FC Porto. This will be a special occasion for the Brazilian midfielder, not only because he turned 21 on Monday, but because he will be back to Estádio do Dragão, where he spent two seasons and helped the Portuguese outfit to a League and Cup double in 2006 and the league title in 2007. Such is the importance of FC Porto to his career that Anderson says he would not feel comfortable celebrating a goal in front of the Portuguese fans.

“I have a great respect for the fans, the ones I worked with and all the people that helped me when I was at Porto. If I score, for sure I wouldn’t celebrate. But I feel at home at Estádio do Dragão since it was there I started my career in European football and advancing to the semfinals there will be a great birthday gift.”

After recovering from a thigh injury whilst serving the Brazilian national team, Anderson says he is ready to play 90 minutes, or more, if manager Alex Ferguson needs him to.

“I am hungry to play and I want to help Manchester United to win all trophies. I feel fully fit again and I am ready to help the manager either playing from start or staying on the bench. It was not in our plans to go to Portugal in such conditions but we have a great team and we can get the result we need.”

Another Brazilian included in Man United’s squad is right-back Rafael da Silva, who has also been carrying an injury. One of the most promising of Brazil’s talents, Rafael was nominated this Tuesday for the Professional Footballers’ Association young player of the year award. He is the only nominee not to come from the British Isles and Ireland.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment